Welcome to the Original Online Meeting Group of CGAA. Visit http://cgaa.info for more information on our fellowship and program.
New people can register via this link.

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:59 pm

Forum rules

* Each topic in this forum is a separate story
* Supportive comments only--no critical comments allowed
* Other topics should be posted in other forums

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Dusty's story 

State/Province/Country: MA/USA
This is rambly. I will revise it.

I don't remember when I started playing. The games were always there. I remember playing with the ATARI 2600 at a very young age. One thing that's clear is that I had an unnatural fixation on video games. It was so intensely exciting when the original Nintendo was released. I did not have one of my own, but whenever one was near and turned on, I was VERY aware of it. When visiting friends, I really only wanted to play their Nintendo.

Flash forward - ~grade 4 or 5. I changed. While I used to be social and confident, now, my peers intimidate me. I begin to believe that I'm not likable. In my mind I'm a "loser". I spent a lot of time agonizing about how I didn't fit in, particularly about my lack of playing sports. (Anyone have a better way to word that?) In 4th grade, I discovered that the more I achieve academically, the more work I'm given, so I start to coast. My main goal for most of my behavior in this time is "don't stand out".

At this time I'm playing a lot of Gameboy and shareware games on the family computer. I spent so many hours playing and replaying these free platformers. I competed a lot with my mother for computer time. Every time I'm in the car I buried my face in the gameboy. At some point, I'm exposed to a FPS - Doom. I'm totally hooked. For a while, I can only get a rare few minutes on someone else's computer, but when my parents buy a nicer computer it becomes my thing. I totally immerse myself in this game.